The Schengen Area Countries List

Spread the love

The Schengen Area is a group of European countries that have abolished passports and other types of border control at their mutual borders. This means that people can travel freely between these countries without needing to go through border checks. This area is named after the Schengen Agreement, which was signed in the village of Schengen in Luxembourg.

What is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area allows for the free movement of people, meaning that once you enter one Schengen country, you can travel to any other Schengen country without going through border checks. This makes travelling in Europe much easier and more efficient.

How Many Countries Are in the Schengen Area?

As of now, there are 29 countries in the Schengen Area. These countries have agreed to allow free movement across their borders for people who are citizens of Schengen countries, as well as for visitors who have a Schengen visa.

See also  25+ Visa Free Countries for Nigerians

See>>> Schengen Visa Acceptance Rate by Country- Top 10 Approval Rate


List of Schengen Countries

Here is a list of the 29 Schengen countries:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland
  27. Bulgaria (candidate for full membership)
  28. Croatia (new member as of 2023)
  29. Romania (candidate for full membership)

See>>> Guide On Schengen Visa Application in South Africa

Benefits of the Schengen Area

  1. Ease of Travel: The most significant benefit of the Schengen Area is the ease of travel. You can move from one Schengen country to another without stopping at border checks. This is especially convenient for tourists and business travellers.
  2. Economic Advantages: The Schengen Area helps businesses by making it easier to trade and move goods across borders. This boosts the economy and creates jobs.
  3. Cultural Exchange: With easier travel, people can experience different cultures, languages, and traditions more easily. This fosters greater understanding and cooperation among European countries.
See also  73 Visa-Free Countries for South Africans: Travel Made Easy

How to Enter the Schengen Area

If you are a citizen of a Schengen country, you do not need a visa to travel to other Schengen countries. However, if you are from a country outside the Schengen Area, you will need a Schengen visa. This visa allows you to enter and travel within the Schengen Area for up to 90 days for tourism or business purposes.

See>>> 73 Visa-Free Countries for South Africans: Travel Made Easy


Applying for a Schengen Visa

To apply for a Schengen visa, you need to submit an application at the consulate or embassy of the country you plan to visit first. The application process involves filling out forms, providing photographs, and showing proof of travel plans, accommodation, and financial means.

See also  25+ Visa Free Countries for Nigerians

Future of the Schengen Area

The Schengen Area continues to evolve. New countries may join, and the existing member countries work together to improve the security and efficiency of the area. The goal is to maintain the ease of travel while ensuring safety and security for all who live in or visit the Schengen countries.

See>>> How To Apply for a Schengen Visa from Nigeria: A Step-by-Step Guide



The Schengen Area is a remarkable example of international cooperation. With 29 countries participating, it offers numerous benefits in terms of travel, economy, and cultural exchange. Whether you are a tourist wanting to explore Europe or a businessperson looking to trade, the Schengen Area makes it easier to move across borders and experience the diversity of this region.

Traveling in the Schengen Area is a testament to the idea that when countries work together, everyone benefits. So, the next time you plan a trip to Europe, remember that the Schengen Area is your gateway to a seamless and enriching travel experience.

Leave a Comment